Rebuilding Foundations

An exploration of international development work in Africa

A Typical Day in Tamale

0600

Wake up and go for a run.  Or, as they say here, go jogging.  “Run” is used as a verb for diarrhea, as in:

“How are you doing?”

“I’m running.” = I have diarrhea, please be nice to me.

As you can imagine, my host-family gave me a weird look the first time they asked me where I was going and I responded, “Just going running! Be back soon.”

0800

Attempt to meet with the Tamale PRO.  He’s a slippery fish who doesn’t often make our meetings.

0810

Call the Tamale PRO and set up a new meeting time.  Tell him that I understand that he had a last minute meeting in Accra/he’s sick/he’s busy, but that I would really, really appreciate it if he could let me know so I don’t go to the Assembly and wait for him.

0815

Go to town.  Use the internet cafe.  Do some errands.

On these days, I’m usually home by noon.  Once at home, I clean my room or wash my clothes or read or lie on the floor under my ceiling fan.  Tamale days tend to be less productive than Savelugu days.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

