Rebuilding Foundations

An exploration of international development work in Africa

Courage

Today I had my bravest moment so far in Ghana.

It occurred because I was the first one to leave the house.  Consequently, I had to unlock the gate at the perimeter wall.  As I reached toward it with my key, I realized there was a big, ugly spider sitting on the lock.  The thing was at least the size of a loony.  I jumped back, suppressing a scream.  It took all my willpower not to simply go back to the house and stay inside all day.  I had work to accomplish, after all!

So I took a stick and waved it at the spider.  Nothing happened.  I threw the stick at the lock and missed.

I picked up another stick and inched closer to the gate.  I took a deep breath, found my reserves of inner strength, and hit the spider off the lock.  It fell to the ground while I jumped back again, maybe letting out the tiniest little squeal.

My trial wasn’t finished yet, though.  The spider was somewhere around the area I had to stand to unlock the gate.  I stood about 2m away and threw sticks and rocks at the location, hoping to scare it off somewhere.  After a few minute, I darted up, unlocked the gate as fast as I could, and ran outside.

Now I can do anything.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Courage

  1. Big Fran on said:

    Cmon you’re from Bowen this should be easy!!

  2. Anything.

Leave a Reply

