Rebuilding Foundations

An exploration of international development work in Africa

Sweat-er Weather

It’s currently the rainy season in Ghana.

When I first heard that, I was disappointed. I love the sun! Who wants to wander around dirt roads in the rain?

I quickly realized, however, that the rainy season is the probably the best season. A “rain” is typically a 20-60 minute intense storm, complete with thunder and lightening. Afterwards, the air is cool and the sun comes out again. On days where it doesn’t rain, there are often a few clouds scattering the sky. It’s not like Vancouver, where “rainy season” means 10 months of drizzle.

When the sun comes out, it’s excruciatingly hot. I spent the first few days thinking that I could faint at any moment. No one seeks out the sun here. No one tries to tan. We stay inside under fans as much as possible.

I laughed to one of my Ghanaian coworkers that I am finally starting to get used to the heat. “No one gets used to,” he answered. “We just put up with it.”

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

