Rebuilding Foundations

An exploration of international development work in Africa

Leaving on a jet plane

I wrote the following post last week en route to Ghana.  Little did I know that the adventure was barely beginning.  I still had to land in Accra, wait a couple days for my luggage, and make the 12 hour bus ride north to Tamale.  I debated posting this, but decided to eventually because sometimes traveling isn’t that much fun.  Sometimes it’s a hassle – like when security in Heathrow took my toothpaste or there aren’t any vegetarian options for me to eat on the airplane.  I don’t want everyone back home thinking this is all one big glamorous stint in Ghana.

That being said, the adventure is totally worth it.

 

 

I’m so over flying.

I hate it.  I wish I was never getting on a plane again in my entire life.

Unfortunately, however, I’m writing this during my flight from Toronto to London.  I still have another flight to Cairo and a fourth to Accra.

Yesterday, I flew from Vancouver to Toronto and landed at 9pm.  My flight this morning was at 9am.  There is very little public transit in Toronto on Saturday night and Sunday morning.

The experience wasn’t too terrible, though.  Luckily one of my friends is driving around Ontario right now so I stashed my luggage at his hotel and went dancing with him and his boyfriend last night.  Pulled an all-nighter, fell asleep on the cab ride to the airport at 5am, woke up totally disoriented and somehow left my phone in the cab.  (I’m so dumb it makes me ill sometimes.)  Passed out sprawled on the airport chairs and slept most of my flight to London.  Now I’m all refreshed and ready for many more hours of flying and a 5 hour layover.

I lied.  I’m not ready at all.  Flying sucks.

Someone please invent a teleporter.

Beam me up, Scotty.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Leaving on a jet plane

  1. ughh. But glad your luggage arrived (after 2 days only?)
    Adventures are meant to be hard, etc – hope you’ve now settled in and enjoying Tamale.
    Thinking of you. Love Dawa

Leave a Reply

