Rebuilding Foundations

An exploration of international development work in Africa

Long Time, No See

Hello interwebs,

I’m back…“from outer space! I just walked in to find you here with that sad look upon your face.”  (You’re grooving a little, right right?)

Once again, I’m preparing to work overseas as a new colonialist in Africa.  And, once again, I’m planning on chronicling it for my mom and a bunch of strangers.  This time I’m working with the Canadian organization Engineers Without Borders as Junior Fellow.  The Junior Fellowship Program consists of 3.5 months work terms for students (yes that means I’ve gone back to school; I couldn’t handle the real world and enjoy being broke).  I plan on writing lots more about EWB, my wonderful university chapter, and the Amplifying Governance Venture in Ghana that I’ll be working with.

This first post, however, is just to reintroduce myself.  It’s been almost a year since returning to Canada and all I can say is I’m a little more cynical and a little less compassionate – but don’t worry I’m going to write a whole post on the new Beth!  More importantly, this blog is currently at 84 followers and 9,545 views (mostly because of the Virginity Soap post*).  So to the other Junior Fellows competing with blog hits, I have a bit of a head start.  Basically 2 years and 241 posts of a head start.

Much love,
B.

 

*Virginity soap does NOT work.

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Long Time, No See

  1. CHARLES AND LYNNE ALTON on said:

    Hi Beth!

    I just saw Christine and Bob this week and the thought came to me (I don’t think I spoke it) that “I miss Bethany’s blog”!! So now I see you’re back and you’ll be going soon to Ghana as a Junior Fellow (as a new colonialist!!) I look forward to reading your reflective, fascinating, honest, funny, thought provoking blog. Wish you well.

    Lynne

  2. so glad you’re back – I’ve missed your blog, too!
    love Dawa

  3. Brenda on said:

    I’m looking forward to resuming starting my day reading your blog but I’m not looking forward to missing you again.
    Write on Beth, to the moon and back,
    Mom

Leave a Reply

