Rebuilding Foundations

An exploration of international development work in Africa

The Mouth That Eats, Insults the Other

Some days I struggle to understand South African culture.  Maybe, though, I simply don’t understand the general human condition so although I say, “What is up with South Africans?” I actually mean, “What is up with humanity?”

Regardless, however, I’m still going to focus on South Africans while I’m here.  I’ll question Canadians when I’m back in Van.

Anyways, I’ve the article below a couple of times and feel like I’m only skimming the surface of what the author is trying to get at.  Maybe someone else can explain it to me?

http://www.citypress.co.za/columnists/dashiki-dialogues-violence-is-at-the-heart-of-who-we-are/

Our country’s specific history of dispossession and the complex global march of capital commits us to this violent reality

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “The Mouth That Eats, Insults the Other

Leave a Reply

