Rebuilding Foundations

An exploration of international development work in Africa

Things I Miss From Home

It’s hard to believe how fast time has flown by!  I’ve been living in South Africa for 8.5 months now and only have 1.5 months left in this country.  While part of me is counting the days until I go home, another part of me is already sad at the thought of leaving this beautiful place.

To counteract the sadness, I’ve listed some of the little things I miss about home. Obviously there are the important things (my friends and family) as well as the predictable ones (the ocean, mountains, forests, etc.) – but some items took me by surprise. Such as these:

  • Matcha lattes
  • Egg tarts
  • Gelato/ice cream vendors all over the place
  • Tortilla chips, particularly “whole wheat” and “hint of lime”
  • Almond milk
  • Reese’s peanut butter cups
  • Dairy Queen blizzards
  • Tim Horton’s donuts (and I don’t even like donuts!)
  • Proper sized samosas
  • Coffee shops that carry soymilk
  • Automatic glasses of tap water at restaurants (South Africa’s water is just as clean as Canada’s, if not cleaner)
  • Widespread availability of freshly baked chocolate chip cookies
  • Widespread availability of wireless internet
  • Unlimited, highspeed internet
  • Public transit
  • Traffic rules and regulations
  • Staggering home drunk at 3am and not feeling the least bit worried for my safety
  • Hailing cabs from the sidewalk at any time of day, not only outside clubs at night

As you can see from my list, I live a pampered middle-class life and don’t have any serious grievances to complain about.

Also, food is a big part of my life.

Maybe once I’m back home I’ll write a list of some of the things I miss about South Africa. I can already predict a few:

  • The weather
  • Joburg’s friendly, gregarious culture
  • The Drakensberg
  • Cheap, delicious restaurant food (anything European based is generally better than Vancouver’s, anything Asian based isn’t)
  • Cheap booze
  • Avocado on pizza
  • Thin crust pizza
  • Making up traffic rules as I see fit
Most beautiful city in the world

The most beautiful city in the world

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

