Rebuilding Foundations

An exploration of international development work in Africa

A Letter

Dear everyone,

Thank you for all the tips regarding my personal safety.

But, please, no more advice.

I understand your concerns.  If one of my friends or family members were in Joburg I’d be worried too, especially if she was a young woman alone.  I’d try to channel my worry and love into something constructive like safety advice.

Honestly, though, I have quite a collection of security tips now.  South Africa is not as scary to experience as it is to hear about.  Instead, I’d rather hear about you.  Send me an email and tell me what you’ve been up!  I love getting emails from back home.

Thanks for all your support.

Love Beth

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “A Letter

  1. It kind of sounds like you think you’ve got it all figured out now and that worries me a little. Just remember that you’re most vulnerable if you’re not constantly aware.

    Just messing with you!;)

    I’m sure you’re doing amazingly and will take care of any thug that crosses paths with you!
    Can’t wait to hear more about Joburg!

  2. Haha thanks Alex!

  3. I don’t know you Alex but you wrote just what I was thinking…if not now someday you’ll be an awesome parent!

    I’m thankful of your 2 black belts but truly hope you never have to use these skills Beth. (and that’s the last I’ll say on the subject:))

    love you forever,
    Mum

  4. Mum,

    Don’t worry, I’m not getting complacent; I’m still being super careful. Most of the advice people are sending me, however, isn’t relevant to my situation here. It feels like advice from the affluent portion of the SA population who left 20 years ago. Instead, there’s a whole new set of suggestions my coworkers are giving me.

    For example: “Carry money in more than one place. That way when you’re mugged, you’ll still have taxi fare for the ride home.”

    Or “Walk in a group.”

    It’s a different mentality than simply, “Don’t take taxis. Don’t walk around. Don’t go to Hillbrow.”

    Love you!
    Be

Leave a Reply

