Rebuilding Foundations

An exploration of international development work in Africa

Politically Correct Canadian

Today my coworker, one of MHA’s directors, gave me a ride to work.  Over the past 20 years he’s traveled extensively through North America (and probably elsewhere too) and has formed a lot of opinions.  During the half hour car ride I got to hear his viewpoints regarding international policies, domestic politics, economic strategies, and political ideologies.  As you can imagine, it was fascinating!  His view of the American strategy of outsourcing their manufacturing industries: “There’s a simple word for it: greed.”

Then he tore apart Marx for his failed predictions and damaging philosophy.  I sat there, nodding slightly as I listened.  He glanced over at me and said, “Oh no!  Don’t be so damn Canadian!  You’re lovely people, but so PC.  It drives me nuts when I go over there – no one has an opinion!  C’mon, let’s hear your view.  You’re allowed to disagree with me.”

I laughed and told him that “I’m really opinionated for a Canadian” and have to be so careful back home, especially when I meet people for the first time.   I continued that I think Marx has been blamed for a lot of things that weren’t originally his ideas.  Similarly, Adam Smith had a lot of great ideas regarding the way capitalism works, but if you want to see a failed capitalist system just look at the United States.

As you can see, I still tried to diffuse the situation instead of going on the long pro-left rant many of you have heard too many times!

I like how PC Canadians are.  The racist remarks I’ve heard here, casually part of the conversation, shock me.  But I also like strong opinions!  So although I won’t return making fun of ethnic minorities, I might come back with even stronger opinions.  You have been warned.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

